David Hagy, Music Director & Conductor

David Hagy, Music Director & Conductor

E-mail address: conductor@salisburysymphony.org
Office address: 204 East Innes Street, Suite 260, Salisbury, NC  28144
Phone number: Office in Salisbury, 704-637-8611

David Hagy is in his 30th season as Music Director of the Salisbury Symphony Orchestra.  During that time he has led monumental concerts like the Mahler Second Symphony and the Verdi Requiem and small concerts like Stravinsky's Soldier's Tale.  He has conducted music from style periods ranging from the Renaissance to works by living composers, and in styles from the symphonic to the popular including gospel, jazz, musical theater, blues, rock, and others.  He loves variety and collaboration and continues to design creatively unique concerts.

He grew up in Indianapolis and credits that public school system with enabling him to become a classical musician.  He went to Indiana University as a violinist and Yale as a conductor, and attributes his conducting abilities to work with Thomas Briccetti and Otto-Werner Mueller.  He has conducted youth orchestras in Omaha, Springfield (MA), Greenboro, and Winston-Salem.  He has also conducted over fifty musical theater productions.

Currently he is also beginning his 23rd year as the Orchestra Director at Wake Forest University for which he has taught three semesters in Venice, Italy.  He lives in Salisbury with his cat Dario and is pleased to be working with the wonderful musicians of the Salisbury Symphony.



E-mail address: director@salisburysymphony.org
Postal address: 204 East Innes Street, Suite 260, Salisbury, NC  28144

William M. “Bill” Bucher, Jr. joined the Symphony in May, 2018 after a 33-year career in North Carolina public school finance.  He holds a Master of Arts degree in Local Government Administration from Appalachian State University and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Administration from Wake Forest University.  Bill’s musical experience is mainly in vocal music, having been a member of church choirs and community musical groups for most of his life. 


Hunter Safrit, DIREctor of Youth orchestras
Executive Assistant

E-mail address: staff@salisburysymphony.org
Postal address: 204 East Innes Street, Suite 260, Salisbury, NC  28144
Phone number: Office, 704-216-1513

Hunter was graduated from Catawba College in 2016 with a degree in music education in the conducting cognate. Now serving as Director of Music Ministry at Salem Lutheran Church, and Director of the Stanly County Choral, Hunter spends his time bringing the joy of music to anyone willing to listen.

Beth Cook

Beth Cook, Education Director

E-mail address: education@salisburysymphony.org
Postal address: 204 East Innes Street, Suite 260, Salisbury, NC  28144
Phone number: Office, 704-216-1513

Ms. Cook is in her 27th year with Rowan-Salisbury Schools, teaching chorus at Charles C. Erwin Middle School. She holds a B.A. in Music Education from Pfeiffer University, an M.M. from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and is National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certified. She lives in Salisbury and enjoys reading, gardening and spending time with her grandchildren.


Board of Directors

Mr. John Schaffer, President

Additional Officers

Mr. Tripp Clement, Vice President
Ms. Linda Jones, Secretary
Mrs. Cynthia A. Thomas, CPA, Treasurer
Mr. John Brincefield, Immediate Past President

Mrs. Evelyn Medina
Mr. Frank Montgomery
Mrs. Stephanie Potter
Mr. Lawrence Quinnett
Ms. Angela Fowler Smith
Mr. Harrison Smith
Dr. Russell Stevens
Mr. Stephen Stringer
Ms. Lane Wallace
Ms. Dawn Williamson

Additional Members

Mr. Joseph Blackwell
Mrs. Emily Blanton
Mr. Matthew Michael Brown
Dr. W. Gerald Cochran
Mr. Gregory Florio
Mr. Timothy Gudger
Ms. Linda Jones
Mrs. Laura Lewis
Mr. Jordan McLeod